Ride comparison: 2320 vs 2520 XL

Classic Parker Boat Forum

Help Support Classic Parker Boat Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I'm considering buying a 2520. I have been able to fish out of a 2320 at least a dozen times this summer offshore mostly 35+ miles out. I'd like to get away with the 2520 XL just due to the purchase cost and fuel but realize there will be a ride penalty for offshore use. Since I have zero experience in a 2520 of either deadrise, I just wonder what the difference in ride will be with the 2320 since that's all I have to compare it to. I was always impressed with the 2320 offshore but my last fishing boat was a 20' light weight 15 degree aluminum jet sled with a very far forward helm nicknamed "The Bleeder" by my friends who rode in it describing their urinary tract after a ride in the waves.

Obviously the XLD would be the best choice for offshore use, but this will also be used for a part time bay boat as well. Just fished out of another buddies 23' aluminum flat bottomed sled last weekend, forgot how much I miss the stability of a flat bottom.

Rob

why not save the 30k and get a 2320 if you liked the ride better. Can certainly buy a lot with the price difference

I think maybe that was a typo and he'd like to get away with a 2320 due to cost and fuel. I think he's wondering if the 2520 will give a better ride and if it would be worth the extra $$$. At least, that's what I'm wondering too, since I'm faced with a similar decision myself. :?

Thanks for the responses guys, but I think I wasn't very clear on what I wanted to know.

I want to get a 25 footer. I want to be able to get the less expensive XL. People say it pounds offshore. Other people say it's good enough offshore if you slow down. I haven't ridden an XL BUT I have ridden in a 23 footer (21 degree deadrise) so this is all I have to compare it to.