1801 CC transom weight and battery move

Classic Parker Boat Forum

Help Support Classic Parker Boat Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Makida

Reaction score
Newbie here with a heavy transom due to 140hp 4 stroke as well as 2 batteries in star/port boxes! This is an older 1991 1801 which has the fuel tank (40 gal I believe) behind the CC. So add 2 guys at 200lbs each at the transom and you are close to a disaster with water coming over the motor cut out. Have not gone offshore yet for this reason. Planning on moving batteries and Perko switch to CC as far forward as possible. Also want to add trim tabs to get the bow down. Bow will not trim right without everyone forward. I'm sure the trim tabs will resolve that issue. Back to my battery move questions. I decide to go with 2awg for the CC run assuming it might be 18-20' from starter to batteries and switch??? Running all new wire for all accessories near transom while I'm at it. Are there wire pull tubes on both sides under deck? I know starboard side has one. Any help or feedback appreciated. Thanks in advance👍

Make sure you do it the rite way, I did not and now my electronics flicker when I start my engine. I left everything the same and just ran the new cables to jumper terminals. Everything works but it does bother me and would be A good amount of work to change it. Last time I had it out was the first time and I didn’t take notice to how it rested witch was the whole reason I did the move. Boat normally stays in the water and the side with the batteries scupper would be under water. Wasn’t a huge issue just didn’t like it

A BEP Cluster will solve that issue....It's a good time to install it with the battery relocation. Dump the Perko switch.......I'm on # 50 of boats I have installed BEP clusters in. Be sure to exchange the 10ga wires on the back....Factory uses automotive ends....Replace the wires with crimp/shrink connectors.