91 Parker CC Fuel tank replacement

Classic Parker Boat Forum

Help Support Classic Parker Boat Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Toodee

Reaction score
The old 95 gallon fuel tank had a good run. 30 years till it started leaking. I’ll post my progress from beginning to end and look for you guys for advice as this is my first time doing this type of work. Fuel tank is out and new thicker gauge (3/16”) aluminum tank is getting built.

I won’t be using foam to install the new tank. I’ll be using neoprene rubber for the bedding as recommended by the tank builder (best in Southern Cali).

Question 1: I noticed the fuel coffin was originally a completely sealed unit. So if any water got in the coffin, it stayed in the coffin with nowhere to go. I installed two drains at the rear of the coffin for water to drain into the bilge. Obviously this is not intended for fuel to drain through but is it ok to install drains in the fuel coffin?

Question 2: When replacing the floor cut out, will 1/4” angle aluminum all around the perimeter of the coffin, as a support shelf for the floor cut out, be strong enough to support the weight of people? (Floor cut out screwed into the aluminum angle, the epoxy / glass the cut seam)07616D47-5ED1-462C-9451-FB7CCC72CD41.jpegF978087C-21B1-44A9-817C-C1C133828F8D.jpeg101DB34F-B747-4DE9-94D7-0E33CCF66F49.jpeg4E7F3AF4-2A23-47BE-9DE9-D92774A7B4B0.jpeg8B3EE00F-C3A1-4A3E-83A5-1C82ED311E41.jpeg9839172E-94EE-4ED1-8CD3-6867493B1407.jpeg

Attachments

• 1611D791-0D1F-4F84-9837-31903736DF7D.jpeg
    1611D791-0D1F-4F84-9837-31903736DF7D.jpeg
    1.9 MB · Views: 52
Reactions: Efx
Trim the floor back to expose 1/2 the width of the stringers and bulk heads. This is where your new floor will sit.
Wouldnt adding drains to the rear of the coffin allow water that may collect in the bilge to flow forward?