Cold Weather Boating

Classic Parker Boat Forum

Help Support Classic Parker Boat Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Porkchunker

Supporting Member
Reaction score
Since the topic of heaters came up, I thought I'd start a discussion about cold weather boating. Being an old U.S. Army Ranger, I have some first-hand experience with hypothermia and the training associated with countering its effects.

Each winter, I spend a lot of time at the Chesapeake Bay-Bridge-Tunnel (CBBT) complex at Norfolk, VA. The water temps get down to 40 deg. by the end of Jan, and the air temps can get a bit below freezing (I stop fishing when the line freezes in the guides). I also fish at night under the lights of the bridge during this time, so the danger is significantly increased. Not a lot of boats are on the water in the winter, and the time it would take for the Coast Guard to react would probably exceed the time it would take for someone who fell overboard to succumb to hypothermia.

This last weekend, while we were out on the water at the CBBT, two fishermen lost their lives at the 3rd or 4th Island due to going into the water and probably succumbing to hypothermia.
http://hamptonroads.com/2009/12/two-fou ... bay-bridge

Last winter two lost their lives:
http://cruelkev2.blogspot.com/2009/01/2 ... shing.html

As a result, I carry towels, a sweat suit and thick socks, and a sleeping bag in the winter. If someone fell overboard, you don't have much time to get them back on board, get them out of their wet clothing, get them dry, and tucked into the sleeping bag. Once that is done, you can head for port and have the Coast Guard either meet you on the water in route, or have medical authorities meet you at the dock.