Recommendations for adding brakes....

Classic Parker Boat Forum

Help Support Classic Parker Boat Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

charrison327

Reaction score
I have a 20 year old Roll Axle trailer that is in great shape, but does not have brakes and never has. I've owned it for six years and really want brakes for peace of mind. I'm always cautious and leave plenty of room and also realize it's a legal thing as well. I'm contemplating on a new trailer or outfit what I have. Again, this trailer is in really good shape and they are extremely well made. With all that being said, I'm not necessarily a mechanic and this will certainly not be something I tackle on my own. I'm in Eastern NC and wondering if anyone can recommend somewhere for me to go. My major issue is there isn't a flange to mount the calipers and that is something that will have to be welded. So I guess that's truly what I'm asking, where I could have the flanges welded for the brakes to be added. Open to advise and suggestions.

A little bit of advice, be aware of what your welding to...it would be wise to identify what alloy your welding to and what filler metal you would then weld with. A good weld shop should do this.

A little bit of advice, be aware of what your welding to...it would be wise to identify what alloy your welding to and what filler metal you would then weld with. A good weld shop should do this.