URGENT Striper Fishing Changes Chesapeake Bay and Potomac

Classic Parker Boat Forum

Help Support Classic Parker Boat Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

johnkn

Reaction score
Guys, the Striper regulations in the Bay are changing for 2020, delayed season, reduced catch, etc. . I'll post a link to them.

Most important for me, if you fish the Potomac River for Stripers, please go to PRFC.US and see the (3) new options being voted on March 4. If the Potomac River Fish Commission elects option 2 or 3 in March, THEY WILL CLOSE THE POTOMAC FOR STRIPER FISHING either much of July/August with option 2 or all of July and August with option 3. That means NO STRIPER FISHING in the Potomac, not even catch and release, July and August.

Please go to the site, and email [email protected] by March 3 with your vote. Spread the word.

At 65 I've been fishing the Potomac for Stripers for 50 years, generally put 1000 fish on the boat each season, and I elect to release every fish. That will potentially will be taken away from me / us.

thank you

I was at the RI fisheries meeting last Monday and the talk is similar here. As a commercial fisherman I have personally seen a lack of 25"-32" class fish for 2 years now. Doesn't bode well for upcoming breeders. No offense, but catching and releasing 1000 fish does transfer to some mortality issues. I went through the 80's around here when you couldn't find a bass to save your life. A year or two of conservation practices could easily bring back the stocks, if we do it in time. M2cw

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk