Need Advice Regarding Pulpit build

Classic Parker Boat Forum

Help Support Classic Parker Boat Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cutch9138

Reaction score
Well After searching the net for a decent priced OE style pulpit to go on my 2320, I am contemplating building my own. My goal is to get as close to factory specs as possible. I contacted Parker yesterday, and I asked them the general make of the pulpit. Their "broad" reply was that it has a 1.5" wood core, set in putty, then glassed on. Now my question to you guys (the experts) is this, is that a solid piece of wood or laminated? Also, what do they mean by set in putty?

I'm an aircraft field mechanic by trade, so I can work my way around general composite repairs. With that being said, has anyone on here tried this before (OE style). I'm wondering if this is out of my league.

Hi Cody!
Typically these are built in a mold, the inside is filled with wood (plywood or solid) or divincell or something similar? Any gaps are filled with epoxy or polyester putty. It's then finished off by glassing the bottom, completely encapsulating the wood.

I often see pulpits at Marine Surplus or other outlets. They are pretty reasonably priced. I'd check there first.

Randy,
Thanks for your reply. My plan is to build a mold. So would I glass over the wood first outside of the mold?
Here are my planned steps. Please tell me what i'm missing or need to do.
1 - Build mold to OE specs
2 - Encapsulate wood with resin and glass. (should I use sold or plywood, what type?)
2 - Lay my gel coat in the mold first.
3 - Lay glass and resin top the gel coat.
4 - Install the encapsulated wood in the mold.
5 - Lay more glass creating a solid piece.
6 - Remove mold, cut and sand to specs.
7 - Apply non-skid.

Once again this is all pre-planning, please critique.

Hi Cody!
Close, but no teddy bear.