WOOD ROT

Classic Parker Boat Forum

Help Support Classic Parker Boat Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

LOOPHOLE

Reaction score
I'm new to the Classic Parker board and I'm considering a new one. I just have a question.

I had to replace a bulkhead on my 30 ft Sport Fish(NonParker boat).
That had to be the nastiest project/job I ever performed. I swore to myself that I'd not purchase another boat with wood in it.

When I was at the Parker dealer, there was a cutout of the boat from the gunnel to the hull just past the water line and the short piece of the deck of the cockpit. The bottom of the hull was about 1/2" thick which made me feel pretty good about the boat. I looked at the area that connected the cockpit deck to the hull and I became a little concerned about water intrusion. The Cockpit cutout had about a 1/4" to 3/8" of glass under the cockpit's plywood. The Top layer, on the other hand was about 1/8" or less. I'm refering to the floor of the cockpit. I'm wondering if this was a representative sample of the boat or just a poor choice of the company's product.

Some of my buddies are not exactly Mensa candidates, so a dropped 6/0 rod/reel dropped with the fastener ring faced down looked like it could do some damage to the top glass in the cockpit. I've worked a little with glass and I know it's strong but the top layer looks thin

I did see some posts regarding cracked glass on decks and I wonder if the factory thickened up the glass on top of the cockpit plywood.

I'm new to the board and I'm considering the Parker boat, despite my experience with the wood rot on the non-Parker, because of the fierce loyalty I see from the owners of Parker boats. They've got to be doing something right to earn that kind of loyalty.