Batteries

Classic Parker Boat Forum

Help Support Classic Parker Boat Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MacFern

Reaction score
Is there an easy and accurate way to check the condition of the batteries?

You can buy a voltage gauge for on your console to tell you all you want to know for from maybe $40 to $ hundreds (which have alarms to tell you when the battery is low). You can use the Yamaha gauge if you have it to see your voltage before you start the engine and see the voltage charging the battery you have on line. You can use a cheap voltage meter (bought my last one at Harbor Freight for $3) to put the probes on each battery post and check the DC voltage. There is a battery brain device to help keep a charge to start a motor but I have no experience with it.

If I think I have a battery going dead because of a bad cel I than take my car battery load tester to the boat and run a real load test on it. The tester gets hot and tells you about the strength of the battery to hold a load.

But I recently purchased:

http://www.basspro.com/webapp/wcs/store ... 00_200-3-4

to check the voltage on my port or my starboard battery but not have the gauge on all the time because of the three way switch. When I get around to installing it, it will give me an indication of the charge in each battery without turning the engine key on or if I am running the stbd battery on the engine I could flip the switch to the port battery and see the voltage on my backup battery.

More electrically informed can add a bunch to this subject. ...........Pete