Bearing Buddies?

Classic Parker Boat Forum

Help Support Classic Parker Boat Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

warthog5

Reaction score
Lets talk about systems that lube bearings now.....Since it's been brought up. on this thread.
viewtopic.php?f=8&t=18302

I've been working at this for about 2 decades now...... That is to get people to use the right terminoligy

People will use the phrase "Bearing Buddy" generically. Like the word "Coke" for some type of soda drink.

Here's the thing. The only thing that Bearing Buddies and a Posi-Lube spindle have in common is Grease!

Now Bearing Buddies have a spring in the cap......Posi Lube Spindles have a stamped metal cap and a Rupper plug in that cap aprox 1in in dia.

That's the easy way to ID the difference between the systems.

You want The Posi Lube system........You Don't want the Bearing Buddies.

Bearing Buddies are 1970's technology.....They have been the demise of many - many inner wheel bearings and Blowing the seals out. In a word....Their JUNK!

The springs never work right and if they do....The inner bearing is starved for grease. This is because the grease compress's the spring before it fills the inner bearing.

On a Posi Lubs system the spindle is Gun drilled.......Then it is cross drilled right between the seal and the inner bearing.

When you add grease to this system there is no preasure put on the seal, so the seal do not blow out.

The grease goes thru the spindle...Then Lubes the inner bearing....Then fills the whole inside of the hub.....then lubes the outter bearing.....Then comes out the in hole around the spindle nut.

This flushes the Whole hub and bearings. It's best to jack the wheel off the ground and slightly spin the wheel while greasing.

It acts just like a bearing packer.....and I put the bearings and hub assy together dry and use that to pack the bearings.