Bottom of Parkers; solid glass or wood core?

Classic Parker Boat Forum

Help Support Classic Parker Boat Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

96TL

Reaction score
I'm installing a thru-hull this weekend, and I've never done this before. I was just wondering, is the bottom solid glass or wood core? Can anyone give me some tips on installing a thru-hull? I plan on using epoxy to mount an oak block (also covered in epoxy) to support the seacock.

Thanks!

Dom

"solid glass or wood core?", com'on now...Parker hull bottoms are solid glass. Where you're drilling, about 1/2" thick (1' either side of keel) :wink:

Thanks.

Any tips or tricks to installing a 3/4 thru-hull securely? Should I oversize the hole, fill with epoxy, and drill through the epoxy plug? Or should I drill the proper size hole and just wet out the edges?

I plan on using a piece of white oak as a backing block epoxied in the bilge. I figured I could paint it to match the rest of the bilge.

Others may cringe, the only thing I have ever done is load up both sides with 5200. Worked for me for several high speed p/u's and an Airmar 2 3/8" hole. Did you check with Parker as to where to install p/u? I would have to measure but app. 1' from transom and 1'port of keel is factory placement.

Let's DRILL :D

I got the measurements from Parker. 5" from the transom and 4 1/2" for the port stringer. 8)

Dom

96TL":1gtp597r said:
I got the measurements from Parker. 5" from the transom and 4 1/2" for the port stringer. 8)

Dom

On my 2320, my thru hull ducer is donw the center of the hull about 5- ft in front of the engine.
If you look at the bottom of the 2320, it is flat at the center at the rear of the hull.
Works flawlessly and no need for a faring block. no problems if you trailer also !
It is about 1 1/2 in thick solid glass there!

96TL":10psybye said: