2820 XL Transducer Location

Classic Parker Boat Forum

Help Support Classic Parker Boat Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hey All, this is my first post after the obligatory New Member post.

I have a 2007 2820 XL and am upgrading the Transducer. I have a B175HW (20 degree) on order, which is the general choice for San Diego Offshore fishing. Here is my dilemma:

The boat came with 2 transducers installed. Both are in the front bilge in the cabin just behind the helm. Photos attached. Port side is most likely a B744 thru hull transducer. Starboard side is a M260 in hull unit. The M260 is old and tired. It kinda works in shallow water but stays completely blank in anything deeper than 50 feet. Gas is too expensive to be offshore without a working fish finder! I can't even find the plug end for the B744 to test it, but it is the wrong unit anyway. My Garmin GPSMAP 7612 XSV has1k chip capabilities, so I would like to go that route.

The general consensus is to install the B175HW in the rear bilge, starboard side (I installed my last one there). However, my rear bilge is very crowded due to the 4 batteries and bait tank drain. It looks like the transducer will barely fit in the area marked 20 degree on the attached photo. I'll check it when it comes in. It is difficult to tell from the photo, but there is a glassed in flat spot for the batteries. It is flush with the battery closest to the transom. I would have to have the transducer right at the edge of the center flat spot and the transom.

My question is, has anyone run one of these transducers in the front bilge? It seems like it would be in the water most of the time but may occasionally lose contact with clean water. It would sure be cool to remove the B744 and widen the hole in order to install the new transducer. I like the idea of less holes. Obviously, someone at some point, thought the front was fine.

Thoughts?

Thanks!