Bilge/Drain Plug area Gel-Coat CRACKS

Classic Parker Boat Forum

Help Support Classic Parker Boat Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

susqking

Reaction score
First off I'm not bashing my boat or any Parker but I thought I would share an issue with my boat with everyone.

The boat is a 2002-2510. Sorry pictures are out of order.

When getting my boat ready for spring I noticed cracks in the bilge area. I don't know why they showed up but can make some educated guesses, maybe some of you guys can tell me your thoughts.
Eric at Parker thought they were gelcoat cracks caused by flexing over the years and nothing structural he answered all my questions and was very nice and sent me some gelcoat after my repair was made.

I have a friend of mine who is an engineer by trade but has worked for a few boat builders when he was young. His hobby is repairing boats and has done everything from transoms to stringers and decks. I had him come over and take a look. He didn't want to just grind down the gelcoat and re gelcoat he wanted to repair it.

We ground the area to the wood which was slightly damp which we dried out before repairs were made. We actually drilled three holes in the transom from the outside to make sure there was no water intrusion, everything was dry. There was an area around the drain plug where the wood was not in contact with the transom. The void was about 3/4" to 1" up the transom and about 3/8" away from the transom we filled this with thickened resin then applied two types of glass alternating the layers. We put a total of ten layers on the area. I don't have a pick but we drilled the drain plug out later and the area will be gel-coated later this summer.

Again this is not a thread bashing our boats but someone else out there could have this issue and should have it repaired. My friend has been to the Parker plant and told me Parker has one of the best layups out their.

Anthony