Dead Washdown Pump

Classic Parker Boat Forum

Help Support Classic Parker Boat Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

drvan

Reaction score
The (factory installed) Jabsco raw water washdown pump on my 2004 2520XL had been working intermittently and now has fully quit. I know some of this has been covered before, but what would you recommend as a replacement? I use the washdown pretty regularly and would prefer to install a better pump. If I upgrade the pump do I need to change any of the wiring (eg upgrade the fuse, etc.)? I would like to do this on my own but, while pretty handy, I am relatively new to working on boats. Thanks for any help.

By the way……….I think this is the best overall site for Parker owners and Dale (of course I realize with the help of many others) has done an absolutely terrific job!!!

Groco is definately the gold standard in washdown pumps.

If you use your pump a lot, and can manage a Groco, that is the way I would go. :wink:

I have a 2004 1801 with a Jabsco raw water washdown pump as well. The pump was also working inconsistently and died while out in August and I thought for sure I would need a new one. I decided to take the pump apart first and discovered that both of the contacts were corroded. I cleaned the unit, replaced the connectors on the feeds from the power and all is good. I was shocked to see non stainless hardware on a pump specifically designed to be mounted in a bilge. Some of the screws holding some of the plastic parts on the pump were completely rusted to the point where they had to be drilled out. If I have to buy a new pump I will probably go with another brand after seeing that.