Fuel Consumption

Classic Parker Boat Forum

Help Support Classic Parker Boat Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bob M

Reaction score
I have limited experience offshore fishing but took my 2310 DVWA out to the Snapper Banks about 43 miles offshore for the first time this weekend. We had 10 to 15 mph winds and 2 to 3 ft. choppy seas. Ran out at about 26 mph came back at about 21 mph ( a little rougher coming back). We ran a total of 105 miles dock to dock. We were out about 8.5 hours total. Didn't shut the engine off as we were drifting over structure bottom fishing. We caught a few Black Sea Bass and silver or vermillion snappers.

We burned 72.5 gallons of fuel in my 2000 Yamaha 225 two stroke for about 1.45 mpg.

I am overdue for new bottom paint which is scheduled for next week so that is of course a factor. Its been 18 months since last paint job but no visible barnacles.

I just wondered if this sounds like really excessive fuel consumption or about what one should expect.

Any idea what the engine consumes per hour when just idling around the drops?

Sounds a little high, but hard to tell from the data. Let's assume you burned 13 gph on the run out and in, which represents about 4 hours running time. That would account for 50 - 55 gallons.

The remaining idling/trolling time of 4.5 hours would burn the remaining roughly 20 gallons for an average of 4-5 gph. That is also not too bad if trolling into seas, but sounds a little bit high.

I have a Yamaha 250 2 stroke and put a fuel flow meter in this year to track exactly what you are concerned about. Trolling at 3-4 knots is surprisingly inefficient.

All I can tell you is that with my 2-stroke 225hp, while 'at cruise' in calm to flat seas I can get 2.0 to 2.3 MPG, when offshore in seas and winds, it can be cut doen as bad as 1.6 MPG.

Let me ask. Did you run with your tabs DOWN?