Radar mount behind spotlight

Classic Parker Boat Forum

Help Support Classic Parker Boat Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TimC2520

Supporting Member
Reaction score
Radar newbie here and I am going to install a Garmin 24 dome on top of a pilot house roof. Unfortunately, it will have to go directly behind the spot light in the pic. The spot light is exactly 10" high. The radar will be mounted on a 6" tower with a 4 degree down angle. The dome itself is just shy of 10" so the mount as a whole will be 16" tall. Will the spot light forever be an "image" on the screen? The mount I want only comes in 6" or 12". Do you think 12" would look awkward being so tall? I don't know if the company will custom make a 10" version as they are closed until 2/14.

The higher the better. I only have a 6" mount but my father has a taller mount. I trailer a lot so I didnt want to go too tall. My radar swipes enough branches. My father mostly wet slips so not as big of deal to him. Just go with the 12" mount, especially since Parkers have a lower roof line and it will get the radar beam slightly higher over the passengers head.

It is in the snow but you can see that a higher radar mount looks fine.. (even if it didnt, it is more practical)

12605319_1033644686692044_1194518278351779584_o.jpg

Even with the higher radar mount you are probably lower than I am since the parker wheelhouse is lower with the step down. I would just go for the taller one and take the better range and safety for your passengers.

I've used Go-Light brand spotlights in the past. Buy at a 4 X 4 shop....same thing but cheaper.

Anyway....They don't stand near as Tall as the light you have on there.