The 12x18 trimtab upgrade Dale finally convinced me to do

Classic Parker Boat Forum

Help Support Classic Parker Boat Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rloomis

Reaction score
Here's the result after changing out the factory 12x12 Lenco tabs for 12x18's

Full up position, reads 2degress from level - the boat is sitting bow high with trailer tongue jack raised
IMAG0271_zpsfe68d7cd.jpg

full down reads ~18 degreees, so I have a little over 15degrees total travel.
IMAG0270_zps895eff54.jpg

trailing edge is 7/8" above plane from bottom of hull. Since I didn't move the original position of
the actuators, the full up/down positions are same as I had with factory 12x12 tabs.
My boat always liked to have a touch of down-tab with the factory tabs. In slow travel into head-seas, I was
always looking for a little more down-tab. The new, wider blades should help give me more lift when deployed, but still wondering
if I could add a little shim to give me more usable range to the down-side. A 1/4" piece of starboard between
bottom of actuator and tab might dial in a full 20degreess downtab and I'd only lose a couple of degrees negative trim that
never really did me any good - even in heavy following seas. Will give a sea trial and see how she handles first...
(wondering now too if I had just added shims to the original 12x12's if that would have been "good enough" of an upgrade...)
IMAG0272_zps856876ce.jpg

To get the new 12x18 tabs, I bought a new, full kit to also get the indicator switch upgrade. I have a spare set of actuators now.
IMAG0273_zpsaa15511b.jpg

rear view1
IMAG0276_zps7e54c2b1.jpg

rear view 2
IMAG0277_zps219e6f84.jpg

I did the "lazy lenco" upgrade option leaving the actuators in the original position. But needed
to drill new holes in the tab to bolt the actuators to the tab in an offset position. Original tab holes filled with JB weld, also added a zinc.
IMAG0278_zps5c188411.jpg