Wandering 2120 dv Parker

Classic Parker Boat Forum

Help Support Classic Parker Boat Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jday

Reaction score
I am new to Parkers, mine is a 2004 2120 sc with a deep vee, and have read the 2120 ph will ride bow high. My 2120 rides bow high and in anything but a flat sea the boat wanders, especially in a quartering sea.

I have a 200hp Optimax (512 lbs.), set second hole down from top which is even with the lowest part of the boat, 15x15 enertia prop and running great. When up on plane I cannot see the AV plate.

So myself and a 15 year old boy went out for the first time with minimal gear and about 40 gallons of gas. Winds were about 15mph and waves 2'+. While on plane, either going into the waves or having a following sea, it was very difficult to keep control of the boat. The boat would go from one side to the other, waves would catch it and I'd have to turn the wheel a lot to maintain course. Factory tabs were down. Steering has been bled and is tight.

So, if I raise the outboard so I can see the AV plate will this help with the wandering and will it help bring the bow down. I've read where raising the outboard does help with bringing the bow down, just seems counter intuitive.

Any ideas or comments are very welcomed.

A Permatrim will help your problem greatly and then the next step would be to raise your motor. Also never lower your trim tabs in a following sea.

Thanks for the replies,

Banjo, I plan on the permatrim and will lift tabs in a following sea

Shawnee & Antidote, on plane and into the oncoming waves tabs were down
How would that cause bow steer with the bow well in the air? Just asking

Brent, the raising of the motor is next and then a permatrim.

Jday":1lut5p2p said:
Thanks for the replies,

Banjo, I plan on the permatrim and will lift tabs in a following sea

Brent, the raising of the motor is next and then a permatrim.