Quantcast

Yamaha fuel Management problem

Classic Parker

Help Support Classic Parker:

susqking

Well-known member
Joined
Feb 23, 2006
Messages
402
Reaction score
0
Location
Middle River, Maryland
Just the other day there was a post regarding different fuel gauges and of course I said I never had a problem with mine.

All I'm getting is 0's on the gauge. Does anyone have a glue what to look for to fix?

Anthony
 

Porkchunker

Well-known member
Joined
Feb 24, 2006
Messages
2,377
Reaction score
1
Location
Solomons Island, MD
If you are getting zip, I'd check the electrical connector of the Yamaha fuel flow meter--normally mounted on the transom. Trace the fuel lines from the fuel-water separators and filters up to the pump bulbs. Somewhere in between should be about a 1" dia square block that is about 2-3" long in-line with the fuel lines. There is a wire coming off of it. Check that connection.
 

andertonm

Well-known member
Joined
Feb 23, 2006
Messages
218
Reaction score
0
Location
Virginia Beach
I love toys, so I couldn't resist putting a FloScan on the boat. Works as advertised, but the gallon per hour gauge is just depressing. What is useful is the digiatl readout of gallons used. It's pretty accurate - certainly gives you better resolution than the digital bars on the Yamaha display. When you think about it, if each of those bars represents 12 gallons, there's a confusion factor of about 20 gallons as to how much gas you really have in the tank. The FloScan tells you how much you have actually used with a fairly high degree of accuracy. I recommend it.
 

susqking

Well-known member
Joined
Feb 23, 2006
Messages
402
Reaction score
0
Location
Middle River, Maryland
Got it fixed, the connection at the gauge was not connected.

I like having the gauge, my friends are always willing to share fuel costs and I always know what was burned.
 

gerg

Well-known member
Joined
Mar 4, 2006
Messages
76
Reaction score
0
Location
new london, ct/mass
It never seems to fail. Have someone else do something on the boat, even something minor, and something else stops working.

Like is it that friggin hard to be a little bit careful? Yes, I know, marine systems are complex but somehow we manage to keep them running when we work on stuff.

Why do mechanics always break something they aren't working on?
 

Mokee

Well-known member
Joined
Feb 21, 2006
Messages
179
Reaction score
0
Location
Chicago Area
My Brother in Law says, "Everything on the boat is broken. We just don't know it yet," and "Plan on spending 10% of the purchase price every year on maintenance."
 

Latest posts

Top