What I've learned so far about the "big block" OX66 motor

Classic Parker Boat Forum

Help Support Classic Parker Boat Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SBH2OMan

Reaction score
Based on another thread, I've decided to post my learnings so far about the OX66 motor on the Lori-K so that it might benefit other Parker owners with similar engines (or those considering buying a Parker with one of these motors). This is in no particular order, and I'll probably update it as I learn more about the motor. I will reference sources where possible. If sources are excluded, you can assume that the learning is from my own first-hand experience. I have a lot of experience wrenching on automotive and motorcycle engines (including complete rebuilds), but this is my first foray into outboard engines...

First, if I was considering buying a boat with one of these motors, I would do the following:

1. Disregard hours on the clock unless excessively high (over 1000) or low (under a few hundred). If well maintained, these seem to have a very good reputation for longevity.

2. Compression check. Don't worry if "low" (high 90's) unless the rest are in the 120's. As long as they are all close (10%) you are golden. According to a certified Master Yamaha Technician, "typicaly the 3.1,especially units produced after 2003, run about 85 PSI on a compression test but Yamaha does NOT post any specifications for compression."

3. Check idle speed. When warm should be 700 to 800 (730 +/- 30 RPM according to my manual). I idling at 1100 you have a problem with a sensor and the engine going into "fault mode" where it locks timing at 7degrees BTDC and idle at 1100. Check WOT - results can indicate the type of sensor problem

4. If you can buy or borrow them, get a "winky blinky" test lamp for reading the fault codes, also get a test harness for testing the TPS and O2 sensor. According to same certified Master Tech: